Audi Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, first post to this forum.

I was told by a service manager at a NON-Audi dealer that all Audi have a problem with a clunking noise in the suspension system, from front upper control arms. I was told it's just noise, but there is no play in the control arms. He said you could replace the upper control arms and outer tie-rod ends, but the clunking sound would probably be back in 6 months.
He said this is a "very common problem" with ALL Audis. I am skepticle of his statements.
Can anyone tell me if this is true? Any feedback?

Thanks -pded

·
Registered
256 Posts
I also have ran across these complaints on other boards. I can only say thay my A6 4.2 with sport suspenson is very quiet. My friend in Germany has an 6A Avant TDI that is also quiet and he drives the you know what out of it. I'm no expert in these things so take this with a grain of salt.
Good luck :57:

·
Registered
186 Posts
I recently received a recall notice from Audi Canada (A4s 1996-2000) for front suspension lower control arms. It says they may have to be replaced. Call your dealer.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the info. If anyone else has more to the original question, it would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I have the same problem with my 2002 A6 TDI. When temp below 0 celsius, there will be a sound like an old "rockingchair". Hot weather = quiet again....

The sound is located in the right susp.
The 8/3 I will have my 30.000 km maintenance, and we will see what they say..

·
Registered
11 Posts
Originally posted by pded@Feb 17 2005, 03:56 PM
Hello, first post to this forum.