Audi Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm loooking at two Avant 5000 Turbo quattro wagons. One is an '86 the other is an '88. Are there any tips or warnings you can give me to look for when inspecting these cars? Any chronic problems? Is one year better than another? The owner claims that the '88 is an Olmypic model from the '88 Calgary olympics. Is there anything extra special about it?

Any performance upgrades for these cars? I have seen ads saying that they have chips or aftermarket waste gate springs. Are these mods expensive and are they worth it? What is the stock performance typically like on these cars? How much can it be improved on? Is it expensive tp upgrade? I'm a mechanic by trade so I'm not afraid to tackle just about anything.

Thanks for all your help, I've never ownwd an Audi just a VW Golf so any advice you can give a newbie would be great! :beer:

·
Registered
10 Posts
I just got on this site 10 min ago! But I have had a 87 avant cs quattro for years. Love the thing! I beat mine to death.... in the woods. Use it for hunting/fishing and going when nothing else moves in the snow/ice. What to look for in a buy: Brake/fuel line rust, any leaks from the diffs or trans, steering rack leaks,turbo play or noise,exhaust manifold cracks. There should not be any body rust usually and all the other weird audi problems can be fixed easily. Expect to change the timing belt,water pump immediately after purchase unless you are absolute it has been done.
This model is worth your effort, it beats my new Subaru outback wagon hands down. Gets better fuel economy, runs stronger,carrys more,better audio,seats, Quattro over shadows Subaru AWD by a light year. Quattro works in down shifting as well as drive.Only thing it lacks is ground clearance to the Subaru. I have a ton of Audi 5000cs parts.

·
Registered
10 Posts