Audi Forums banner

Help with tuning an AUDI A3 1.8 T

18K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  god 
#1 ·
Hello, just signed up here for a few pointers on tuning up my audi A3, now i know i need a remap, induction kit, sports exhaust system, etc.

But i would prefer to know what order i need to do everything and maybe other parts i could buy, from cheap parts to expensive parts, if anyone could have the time to write me a nice list that would be great.

I dont need price listings, just the info and what gaines i could get.

Its an AUDI A3 1.8T 150BHP

Cheers

#2 ·
Help With Tuning

Dave,

I'm new to the Audi forum also. In my years of owning cars, the very first thing I would do is make sure the engine breaths well. If you can, check around and see if you can get a true three angle valve job with a full port and polish. This alone will give you about twenty to twenty five more horse power if not more.

Secondly, I would put in a K&N air filter and get a new 3" exhaust system relocating the cat so you can have an open down pipe installed. Again, this will make your engine breath more. After that is done, see if you can get a larger throttle body. This will increase throttle response. It's amazing even at lower RPM's.

Well, I could go on. I hope this helps.

PS. To make everything work even better, make sure you lower that car alittle. You'll be amazed.

Sleeper35

#3 ·
I would say remap at the very first chance you got!
But for sure to get a good use of the extra HP you will gain, you will need to work on your suspension later on, get a lowering kit and stiffer sport shocks and maybe larger wheels.
Anyway, if you are looking for the best gain in power and the less money to spend, you should get a remap, then try a K&N cold air intake and then work on your exhaust system.
For sure as Sleeper35 said, make sure your car is ready to the tuning, means everything is working fine and your engine is breathing right.