Audi Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got another quck question. just the other day my display starting displaying 99:59h were it should show the fuel mileage. Has anyone seen this before? Not sure what it means. thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
149 Posts
:mellow:
Did you not accidentally cycle throught the computer display? There is an on board clock that counts up from 00:00. It is part of a safetly feature to warn of driving constantly for in excess of 2hrs and will warn the driver to take a break. Just cycle through the computer again until you come to the fuel/milage remaining. Cant think of anything else.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Originally posted by Kelvin@Feb 17 2005, 04:51 AM
:mellow:
Did you not accidentally cycle throught the computer display? There is an on board clock that counts up from 00:00. It is part of a safetly feature to warn of driving constantly for in excess of 2hrs and will warn the driver to take a break. Just cycle through the computer again until you come to the fuel/milage remaining. Cant think of anything else.
I don't remember cycling through the computer but I'll try it and see what happens, maybe one of my "chill'ens" pushed the button.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Originally posted by Kelvin@Feb 17 2005, 04:51 AM
:mellow:
Did you not accidentally cycle throught the computer display? There is an on board clock that counts up from 00:00. It is part of a safetly feature to warn of driving constantly for in excess of 2hrs and will warn the driver to take a break. Just cycle through the computer again until you come to the fuel/milage remaining. Cant think of anything else.
Well I did try cycling through the computer display but did not change anything. I'm not sure what the heck is going on with it. just keeps displaying 99:96h and I have no clue what it means. Anyone else have any ideas? :mellow:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
149 Posts
^_^
Ok, another idea! It seems through the various postings that the on-board electronics are pretty sensitive to an aging battery. If the voltage starts dropping off, it appears to interfer with the electronics and makes them unreliable. Read up on these older postings here. This might be an idea to try.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Originally posted by Kelvin@Feb 21 2005, 05:52 AM
^_^
Ok, another idea! It seems through the various postings that the on-board electronics are pretty sensitive to an aging battery. If the voltage starts dropping off, it appears to interfer with the electronics and makes them unreliable. Read up on these older postings here. This might be an idea to try.
My bad, I forgot to update you guys. I finally figured out what was the problem. In fact it was NOT a problem at all. It is a feature that I was not aware of. But long story short on the end of my wind shield wiper switch is a rocker switch that you can push to set up a timer. Well I guess I hit it and did not realize it and I set the time to on but did not set up a time so it just displayed 99:59h until I reset it. Silly me :innocent:
But yeah that was the deal, I learn something new everyday about that car!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Originally posted by Kelvin@Feb 21 2005, 05:52 AM
^_^
Ok, another idea! It seems through the various postings that the on-board electronics are pretty sensitive to an aging battery. If the voltage starts dropping off, it appears to interfer with the electronics and makes them unreliable. Read up on these older postings here. This might be an idea to try.
yeah a bad or low battery will definatly mess with modern electronics. Thats pretty much across the board now with all manufacturers. These modern cars rely heavly on computers and sensors that a top notch electical system is manditory. Good advise on your part.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
149 Posts
Originally posted by auditt1.8l@Feb 26 2005, 07:57 AM
... on the end of my wind shield wiper switch is a rocker switch that you can push to set up a timer. Well I guess I hit it and did not realize it and I set the time to on but did not set up a time so it just displayed 99:59h until I reset it....
:grin:
That was kinda what I was getting at but stopped short of explaining fully, sorry. You dont have to reset the counter. It is personally not a function that I have used and I reset it once or twice just out of curiosity. I now just leave it cycled up which on my car is 23:59
Just to clarify for anyone else out there, cycle the computer display onto the counter and then press the reset button on the underside of the wiper arm. The counter will reset to zero and start counting your drive time up again until it hits its peak. If you have reset it and drive continuously for two hours, you will be given a warning to pull over and rest a bit. Good-old German attention to safety and detail!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Originally posted by Kelvin@Feb 26 2005, 07:10 AM
:grin:
That was kinda what I was getting at but stopped short of explaining fully, sorry. You dont have to reset the counter. It is personally not a function that I have used and I r
Well no harm done, we finally got it figured out. B)
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top