Audi Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I've seen that Audi 80's/90's have a fairly common problem where the engine just stops. I have this problem too. Could be at any time. Didn't happen all winter but has started a gain now the weather has warmed up. Happened regularly last summer. Had idle control valve changed by garage but this didn't make any difference. I don't think the garage knew what the problem was so just tried something! This could prove expensive!!
By the way the engine stops I think it must be an electrical problem. The engine just stops, there is no run on or stuttering.
I've come across several suggestions of what to look at - fuel pump relay, ECU relay (under the steering column?). I've never done any work on this car before nor have a manual, so can anyone tell me where these are?
Other suggestions are - clean the distributor cap, the air temperature sensor, a crack in the ignition module.
If anyone can tell me where the relays are or has any other suggestions then I would be very grateful.
Many thanks,
Simon.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Don't know if it's any help but mine does it when cornering hard and less than 1/4 tank of fuel,no warning ,no stuttering,just chop,it comes back on tune when straightening up.

It also had an episode of refusing to start and had to be towed to the garage,they checked the fuelling side as OK,then fiddled with the ignition side and made it work,GREAT! then they very apologeticaly told me "we've no idea what was wrong,or what we did to fix it"the good points were it now works again AND they didn't charge me for any work :grin: just a tow in charge.

I think the cutting out round corners is the fuel pump reserviour as it did this before when the useless main dealers fitted the wrong type of pump when I first had the car under warranty. Makes me wonder if the cup thing has fallen of the pick-up.