Audi Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to the Audi owner’s scene, and thoroughly enjoying my new purchase. :rolleyes:

I have A4 2.5 TDI, registered in December 2003. I’ve only had the car since December 2004, and don’t know why I left it so long to get one. B)

Here is where you all sigh, and say don’t do it. But I also own a Caravan, and need to have a tow bar fitted. On my last car, I had detachable swan neck bar, which was totally unseen when not in use and would like a similar unit fitted to the A4.

From searching the various UK suppliers, it seems that the detachable units available for the A4 need to the bumper to be cut in some way. However, from what I have seen, non show what actually needs to be cut away. On my old car, the cut was behind/underneath the bumper so was again, unseen – unless you knelt down and looked under the car.

Do any of you know of a suitable bar, and have any idea of the cutting that is required. If possible, could someone post some photos to show the cuts?

Thanks in advance

Dean

·
Registered
1,243 Posts
how much is one of these tow bars? might be worth investing in a small trailer on front axle tow to keep the miles off your car

·
Registered
38 Posts
Hello Dean,

I've got an A4 2.5 V6 TDi Quattro Sport
(Which has been chipped - come onto that later)

I fitted a towbar to the car last summer - I tow a 17 foot speedboat with an unbraked trailer.

I couldn't afford a Brinck / swan neck bar, so i opt'ed for a cheapie from ebay
I found a towbar shop selling them for £80 delivered.
I fitted it myself (inc single electrics) & i had to cut a bit out the bottom part of the
bumper. It's on the horizontal part which bends round & tucks under - the cut does not appear on the facing / vertical part.
In other words - when you go to sell the car & take the towbar off - the salesman will not notice it unless he goes down on all 4's to get his suit dirty!!