Head Unit upgrade has me scratching my head - Audi Forums
B7 Forum 2005.5+ Audi A4, Audi RS4 & Audi S4. (Audi A4 Forum, Audi RS4 Forum, Audi S4 Forum)

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-08-2015, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Head Unit upgrade has me scratching my head

Installed a new Kenwood head unit into my otherwise stock 07 A4 (non-bose, symphony).

Anyways, used the PAC harness and everything seems to be working just fine; however, the rear door speakers and amp just don't have the same volume as the stock radio. The read doors speakers and sub are getting audio signal but they aren't as loud as the front speakers. I would expect them to be louder considering it has the factory amp. I tripe-checked the new wiring harness and I am certain there is 12+ vdc going back to the amp for turn-on (white wire in dock n lock connector).

What has me scratching my head is that the dock-n-lock connector is populated with RCA connection points but it makes no difference if I have the Front/Rear RCAs plugged into my Kenwood head unit. I also noticed that the dock-n-lock connector is NOT populated with speaker wires for the rear left/right so I have no idea how the rears are getting an audio signal and why the volume is low.

Any help would be appreciated!
Trigger200 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-14-2015, 02:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
On a stock head unit, non Bose, in the UK the adapter has RCA outs for the rear speakers as there is no hi level out from the factory head unit.

You need to hook up the RCAs to the output of your new head unit, and you have to make sure the power wire is hooked to the blue remote out from your new head unit too so it power up.

This image shows the amp switch on pin that the remote out from your new head needs to hook up to...


Depending on the head unit you may need to up the rear outs a bit, you may have a head unit with 2v outs, 3v, 4v or 5v, obviously this will effect the gain.
gIzzE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4, RS4 and S4 Forum > B7 Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Audi Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome