MMI NAVIGATION problem DVD USA/EUROPE - Page 3 - Audi Forums
Audi A8 and S8 Forum Discussion area for every generation Audi A8 and Audi S8. (Audi A8 Forum, Audi S8 Forum)

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 41 (permalink) Old 03-31-2009, 03:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
It doesn't seem to be a navigation problem more of an interface problem. All the necessary information is there but you cannot utilise it correctly. I might be wrong but my MMI version is 4610 which doesn't exist in Europe, correct?
oscara5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 41 (permalink) Old 03-31-2009, 05:26 AM
Expert
 
craigyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
So if you have a US based car the MMI will not work in Europe correctly, you should have made that clear.

You will have to reflash the cars MMI controller with 5170 or 5570

My Retrofit Website
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
craigyb is offline  
post #23 of 41 (permalink) Old 03-31-2009, 05:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Thank you.
oscara5 is offline  
 
post #24 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-01-2009, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigyb View Post
So if you have a US based car the MMI will not work in Europe correctly, you should have made that clear.

You will have to reflash the cars MMI controller with 5170 or 5570
My Audi dealer claims that I have to change my whole navigation unit as the US and EU ones are not compatible. I am going to try with a different dealer but if I would like to try to do it myself, how would I do it?
oscara5 is offline  
post #25 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-01-2009, 03:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigyb View Post
What you have shown is nothing.

The BT prep and Nav are not subject to CP.

Do a scan of the car and post the faults if any.
craigyb if these modules are not subject to component protection, what would you say about that?



I found this mesage in the hidden menu.
Passo is offline  
post #26 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-01-2009, 05:50 PM
Expert
 
craigyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
component protection would cleary show in a VAG COM scan.

so I think you have faulty parts

My Retrofit Website
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
craigyb is offline  
post #27 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-27-2009, 04:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Hi!
You were right craigyb, my Nav unit was faulty, I’ve just replace it with new one, and it is working great!
I am going to replace BT module, but before I will buy one, could you give me some advice? What is the difference between that last letter? I understand that I would be the best to have one of the latest ones like 4E0910336 L for example, but is it really that important? There are some modules on eBay with H or F, and I am not sure if it is worth to spend more money and get the latest revision.

My second question is the part number of that little tray/ trim which is inside the armrest. My Audi dealer told me that I have to buy entire armrest . Well I was not so sure about it, I’ve done some research, and I fund 4E0 864 982. Could you confirm that this is what I need?
I would appreciate any help.
Passo is offline  
post #28 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-27-2009, 04:54 PM
Expert
 
craigyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Be careful buying any H or F modules for A6/A8/Q7, Audi produced batches of modules with software that trashed themselves and the MMI, I have about 5 dead ones in my workshop.

They were fixed at rev K I think, so anything after K would be a good buy.

For cars with the phone under the armrest and twin armrests the part number is

4E0 863 075 D and then the colour code

For cars with a phone under the armrest and a single armrest the part is

4E0 863 075 C and then the colour code.

My Retrofit Website
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by craigyb; 04-27-2009 at 05:03 PM.
craigyb is offline  
post #29 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-28-2009, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Rear lights

Craigyb,

do you know anything about recoding the control unit for the rear lights on my A5 imported from the US? Or could you recommend someone, who might have a solution? Audi (here in Sweden) are unable to help me. Currently the light that is supposed to flash (turn signal) is used as a reversing lights. One problem is that the same control unit handles the alarm and security settings as well.

Furthermore, I still have the problem with my MMI. How would I reflash it?

Thanks in advance
oscara5 is offline  
post #30 of 41 (permalink) Old 10-21-2009, 05:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigyb View Post
No, a dealer will not do this for you, unles you know them very well.

US-2-EU MMI conversion:

First of all:

-remove the navigation DVD
-remove all CD's from the CD changer

Then you have to go to the 'hidden menu':

1. open the “hidden menu” on the MMI by pushing first SETUP, en then CAR, keeping them pushed for about 5 seconds.

If this doesn't work, you will need to enable this option by means of VAG COM:

Select 07 - Control Head
Select Adaptation - 10
Select Channel 08
Select Read
Enter new value 1
Select Test
Select Save
Select Done, Go Back
Select Close the controller

Push SETUP & CAR button again, and you should get into the ‘hidden menu’

2. in the ‘hidden menu’ goto MMI>Settings en set “SWDL manuell” and “SWDL ignore Region/VMC' (see picture in previous post) ON

3. insert the EU 5150 file CD in the CD changer on location 1
4. choose in the “hidden menu” for “Start Bootloader”
5. Unit will start update
6. When the update finished: leave the 5150 CD in the changer, and press SETUP & RETURN at the same time and choose “UPDATE”
7. The system will update
8. When finished: remove the 5150 CD from the changer
9. Insert the latest EU DVD in the DVD player
10. Check whether the unit will read the DVD and shows TMC etc.

if so, you are done
Does the same idea work with a5s, obviously with the correct cds, but the hidden menu etc? Or is the mmi for a5 different?
oscara5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A8 and S8 Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Audi Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome