2002 Audi A4 quattro 3.0L (Oil and Filter) [Archive] - Audi Forums

: 2002 Audi A4 quattro 3.0L (Oil and Filter)

Mike-A4
01-24-2012, 01:12 PM
Hey guys

I'm new to Audi-Forums, and actually this is my first Audi I've ever owned.

i purchased a 2002 Audi A4 quattro 3.0l and i absolutely love it, I've had the car for a week and the check engine light came on. I thew on my obd2 reader and apparently I have 6 misfires from each cylinder. I contacted the dealer i bought the car from they told me to bring it in. the day after i bought it, same thing, but the obd2 code reader gave me a error code of p0421 which was either a bad o2 sensor, or error from cold starts...it was really cold out that day here in Canada -40....but the temperature is much warmer this week...and one more thing....there's a really loud noise coming from the belt on the engine by the rad/ac condenser....when should these belts be changed and is this the timing belt?

what is the best recommended full synthetic oil and filter for audis? Mobil 1 perhaps? and what kind of filter should I use?

has any1 ever heard or know what can cause the misfire on all cylinders?

Thanks guys

Mike

mullardel34
01-25-2012, 05:08 AM
Congratulations on the new-to-you A4! My wife and I just love our pair of B6 A4 3.0L Quattro's! :)

The visible belt on the front of the engine near the AC-condenser/radiator is the serpentine belt; the timing-belt is well-buried under the front engine-cover (along with the thermostat and water-pump). Noise from the serpentine belt is pretty unusual unless something driven by the serpentine belt is failing/faulted, such as a "frozen/seized" AC-condenser (the interior climate-control system runs the AC year-round to manage the humidity levels in the car interior). The serpentine belt is usually changed as part of the timing-belt service (every 70K-miles/7-years, whichever comes first).