Help needed, in understanding A6 - Newbie :-| [Archive] - Audi Forums

: Help needed, in understanding A6 - Newbie :-|

salah_2u
08-08-2011, 04:51 AM
Dear All A6 owner,

I am looking forward to buy A6 TDI 2006 - 2007. I own Bmw 6 series V8, since I travel a lot, therefore I am looking for a decent economical solution,and I think a6 is quite good. Since I am new to Audi, I dont know the terms and tech, therefore I would appreciate a lot if you guys 'current owners' can help me in understanding which model to pic, I have few specific questions:

1 - S line , is it better than non-sline as I like the look and sporty seats

2- what is the MMI bit, I see lot of discussion on it, people talk about upgrading them, is it only a software thing or does it require hardware upgrade.

3- Can I play mp3 ? I see there are some discussion on upgrading, what is the basic requirement that a6 have to have to allow it to upgrade to mp3 ?

4- and finally what is the true mpg out of 2 litre diesel 2006 - 07, even identifying total miles per full tank will do.

5- are there any common faults in A6 to look for in the yr 2006 - 07

Many thanks in advance

BlackFerret
08-19-2011, 01:44 PM
cant answer all of them i have the 3.0l diesel 2006

but S Line also gives you the suspension upgrade which some see as a rough ride (i think its fine) and i prefer the looks and interior

audi MMI is the brain in the dash board that gives you access to the NAV, Radio, CD player, TV, Phone etc

it comes in 2-3 variants for the 06 07 models mmi and MMI High (sometimes called + or 2g/3g i think) the high is far superior as you get a decent screen and much better menus (the low has a nasty little bar screen with pixel like graphics)

if you think of doing any upgrades to the car the MMI version must be compatible thats hardware wise (2g/3g) and software version wise