Time for A4 1.8T service. Help, please!!! [Archive] - Audi Forums

: Time for A4 1.8T service. Help, please!!!

walklikeaman
02-01-2011, 10:15 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to the forums, but it looks like there are some very legit folks who frequent this site. I just took my 2005 A4 1.8T into an independent shop for the 55k service (the car has about 58k miles...). They do a courtesy "integrity" check to give you a list of things they think need to be replaced. My eyes just about popped out of my head when they came back with a list of things totaling about 5k... This is obviously my first non-warranty service, lol...

I'm going to list the things on their report that I'm not quite sure about and hope that someone (or a few someones) out there can give me some feedback on whether these are common things to replace this early into the life of the car and whether the prices seem fair. I'd appreciate any feedback I can get.

Many thanks, in advance!

-- Engine decarbonization
Parts: $50
Labor: $101
Do I need this? Or should I just open my car up on the freeway for 30 mins (assuming I can avoid a $300 ticket from 5-0...)?

-- Replace full control arm kit for front suspension
Parts: $914.46
Labor: $560.55

-- Replace timing belt, tensioner pulley & dampner, waterpump
Parts: $486.94
Labor: $678.72
Seems a bit early for this??? I know I could be seriously hosed if it goes. Is this a fair price?

-- Replace valve cover gasket and cam tensioner gasket
Parts: $49.06
Labor: $495.41

carp46120
02-24-2011, 03:50 PM