Can I replace symphony with symphony II? [Archive] - Audi Forums

: Can I replace symphony with symphony II?


sfopeano
02-08-2010, 11:07 AM
I'm wondering if I can replace a symphony radio in my 2008 A4 with a symphony II from an A4 of the same year. Are the wiring harness connections interchangable? I have the bluetooth phone option, and I want to make sure that will work as well. Does anyone know? Thanks in advance.

craigyb
02-08-2010, 12:03 PM
Do you mean Symphony II to Symphony II+ or do you mean a Concert II+ to Symphony II+

sfopeano
02-08-2010, 12:38 PM
I may be in over my head a bit here, but my current radio simply says "symphony" on the front, and the one I'm thinking of buying through eBay is described as "AUDI SYMPHONY II RADIO". (AUDI SYMPHONY II RADIO A4/S4 2004-08 6 CD CODE TESTED : eBay Motors (item 300389172482 end time Feb-20-10 02:20:58 PST) (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300389172482&ssPageName=ADME:X:AAQ:MOTORS:1123)) On the back of my current radio, the label reads Audi Symphony NAR B7 soul, in case that helps. I have a bunch of other numbers from the back of the radio, but I'm not sure what the numbers are.

craigyb
02-08-2010, 02:19 PM
The B7 would already have a symphony II and from 2007/8 it would be a Symphony II+,

Symphony II, 6 CD in dash and tape player and 3 band radio
Symphony II+ 6 CD in dash with MP3 CD support, 3 band radio

So if yours has a tape deck it's a II and without a tape deck it's a II+. The II+ is the superior radio unit and no point upgrading. If it's a II, then yes upgrade to a II+ and lose the tape player, but gain MP3 capabilities.

The wiring between the two is totally different, the II has ISO connectors for power/speakers/signals, the II+ has a QUADLock for everything, so you would need adaptors to go from a II to a II+.

The radio in your ebay add is a standard symphony II

sfopeano
02-08-2010, 03:06 PM
Thanks very much, that's exactly the information I was looking for!