MMI not recognising new AMI unit [Archive] - Audi Forums

: MMI not recognising new AMI unit


dunn3r
01-05-2009, 12:06 PM
Hi,

Just connected up a AMI retrofit kit to my A5, which is running MMI SW 0130. I have a late 07 model so have a CAN not MOST bus setup.

The AMI unit supplied by Audi is the CAN version (8T0 035 785).

However, the AMI unit is not being recognised by my MMI system.

I had thought initially it needed a software update to be activated/recognised and attempted to update the MMI software (provided by Audi: Audi Deutschland > Modelle > Audi music interface (http://www.audi.de/de/brand/de/neuwagen/mp3/audi_music_interface.html)) by regular CD. Even though the AMI_update_080423.bin file was on the CD I keep getting a message saying 'No Readable Tracks Found'.

Can anyone please advise how to get the AMI activated/recognised by MMI and if it's the software route/fix above - how to get the update patch recognised by the CD player (have tried holding setup + return but this doesn't seem to work for me version of MMI)?

Many thanks.
Niall

craigyb
01-05-2009, 01:01 PM
You need to do 2 things

1. Ask audi to do an SVM update to activate the AMI
2. Recode the radio and remove the AUX input (if it's there) and add the MDI (mobile device interface)

a8 tech
01-05-2009, 02:36 PM
You need to do 2 things

1. Ask audi to do an SVM update to activate the AMI
2. Recode the radio and remove the AUX input (if it's there) and add the MDI (mobile device interface)

O dear only 2009 can radio supports ami.As of week 22/2008 can bus ami can be retro fitted.
I have retro fitted 10 of these canbus ami and can confirm you need a 2009 radio unit
You need to change byte 11 of the radio code to allow ami function display as not many dealers no this and the svm code doesn't change this code so you need to manually change the radio hex code.
If you need to change the radio you will also need to release component protection but also you need to manually transfer the radio long code and alter for ami.Don't let the dealers carry out a comparison test after this or the server will re enter the original radio code from production post your radio code and i will tell you what to change and also you need to add media player position 3 for ami

craigyb
01-05-2009, 04:04 PM
Yes, but without the SVM code you will lose the Media player 3 every time it goes in for service.

a8 tech
01-06-2009, 01:17 PM
Yes, but without the SVM code you will lose the Media player 3 every time it goes in for service.

Yes correct the svm code changes the pr numbers and the servers data base to show the conversion.
here's a before without media 3 in gateway and without byte 11 changed in radio

1-Engine -- Status: OK 0000
02-Auto Trans -- Status: OK 0000
03-ABS Brakes -- Status: OK 0000
04-Steering Angle -- Status: OK 0000
05-Acc/Start Auth. -- Status: OK 0000
08-Auto HVAC -- Status: OK 0000
09-Cent. Elect. -- Status: OK 0000
10-Park/Steer Assist -- Status: OK 0000
15-Airbags -- Status: Malfunction 0010
16-Steering wheel -- Status: Malfunction 0010
17-Instruments -- Status: OK 0000
19-CAN Gateway -- Status: Malfunction 0010
42-Door Elect, Driver -- Status: OK 0000
46-Central Conv. -- Status: OK 0000
47-Sound System -- Status: OK 0000
52-Door Elect, Pass. -- Status: OK 0000
53-Parking Brake -- Status: OK 0000
55-Xenon Range -- Status: OK 0000
56-Radio -- Status: OK 0000 code 0503008201048D00035B070000
77-Telephone -- Status: OK 0000

after ami retro fit

01-Engine -- Status: OK 0000
02-Auto Trans -- Status: OK 0000
03-ABS Brakes -- Status: OK 0000
04-Steering Angle -- Status: OK 0000
05-Acc/Start Auth. -- Status: OK 0000
08-Auto HVAC -- Status: OK 0000
09-Cent. Elect. -- Status: OK 0000
10-Park/Steer Assist -- Status: OK 0000
15-Airbags -- Status: OK 0000
16-Steering wheel -- Status: OK 0000
17-Instruments -- Status: OK 0000
19-CAN Gateway -- Status: OK 0000
2E-Media Player 3 -- Status: OK 0000 here's the ami
42-Door Elect, Driver -- Status: OK 0000
46-Central Conv. -- Status: OK 0000
47-Sound System -- Status: OK 0000
52-Door Elect, Pass. -- Status: OK 0000
53-Parking Brake -- Status: OK 0000
55-Xenon Range -- Status: OK 0000
56-Radio -- Status: OK 0000 byte 11 changes the code to

0503008201048D00035B070800

77-Telephone -- Status: OK 0000

so there is no issue with vag com but ask the dealer at the next visit to enter the svm code to make the change permanent.
I use my vcds to do this as the long code helper is superb compared to vas guided fault and self diag as the dealers have no reference to the long code as the online server does it automatically so not many techs no whats what with long codes daft but that's the way vag work