MMI Upgrade question - Audi Forums
Audi Forum Audi Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A6, RS6, S6 and 100 Forum > C6 Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

C6 Forum 2005+ Audi A6, Audi RS6 & Audi S6 (Audi A6 Forum, Audi RS6 Forum, Audi S6 Forum)

Audi-Forums.com is the premier Audi Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2007, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
quadraspleen is on a distinguished road
Question MMI Upgrade question

have acquired the latest "High Update" MMI cd which is supposed to take my MMI from version from 2140 upwards to version 3460, and the new 2008 european map. I have a couple of questions if you could help?

1) How do I check my current software version?

2) Is this as easy as I have been told? : Press Return and Setup for 5 seconds, change menu to Software Update and take the choice of updates. Surely this can't be it? Can I break it? (of course I can!)

3) How do I know which updates to take from the list? Is it obvious? I know what I have in my car in terms of which amp; tv etc

Surely this should be a free upgrade? It's only system software, isn't it?



Thanks

jake
quadraspleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2007, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
quadraspleen is on a distinguished road
Default

update

I just ran the CD to see what it all does. Being a computer engineer, I'm not scared of these things

It scanned the system and told me what I had and whether or not an upgrade for it was included on the disc. It then said "Start Download" and that's where I stopped! Is this going to mash my system? Surely not. It all seems very straightforward. There is logging so I can see if it was a success or not...I read somewhere on this board that I need a "constant voltage" to the battery while upgrading. What does that mean? Can I do it while the car is ticking over?
Any help appreciated
quadraspleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
a8 tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,168
Gallery: (0)
a8 tech is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quadraspleen
update

I just ran the CD to see what it all does. Being a computer engineer, I'm not scared of these things

It scanned the system and told me what I had and whether or not an upgrade for it was included on the disc. It then said "Start Download" and that's where I stopped! Is this going to mash my system? Surely not. It all seems very straightforward. There is logging so I can see if it was a success or not...I read somewhere on this board that I need a "constant voltage" to the battery while upgrading. What does that mean? Can I do it while the car is ticking over?
Any help appreciated
You need to supply the battery with a 12 volt charge as the update takes 40 mins and you cant do it with the engine running,also no other consumers must be operated as any voltage drop may cause ireversible damage to the mmi units.This is best done by the dealer as a software up date needs to be registered with the server in germany for future referance to repairs and recalls.
__________________
B6 1.9 TDI AVANT QUATTRO
MODS RS6 wheels, dis + cruise,S line body,Ipod interface,Sline steering wheel, leather interior, Eibach Pro springs.

diagnostic tools vas pc & vcds

If you like your answer then hit the rep button
a8 tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
quadraspleen is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the speedy reply.
Will they charge me even though I have the CD?
Would they charge me more if I didn't have the update CD?
Can they tell me off for having the cd in the first place?

Thanks again
quadraspleen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
a8 tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,168
Gallery: (0)
a8 tech is on a distinguished road
Default

1 hours labour and audi have there own cd update discs for mmi so you dont have to tell them you have a copy disc.Hope you didnt pay to much as there only £1.99,its the labour that costs and if you had been in touch with audi and bought the latest sat nav cd from them they may have done it for nothing as i have for are customers when updating software for phone issues or nav problems.
__________________
B6 1.9 TDI AVANT QUATTRO
MODS RS6 wheels, dis + cruise,S line body,Ipod interface,Sline steering wheel, leather interior, Eibach Pro springs.

diagnostic tools vas pc & vcds

If you like your answer then hit the rep button
a8 tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 04:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
Vish is on a distinguished road
Default

hi guys the name is vishal and can anyone help me in getting a copy of the mmi update
Vish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 04:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
Vish is on a distinguished road
Default

what does is update,does is update the graphics aswell
Vish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 08:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Gallery: (0)
jfiredragon is on a distinguished road
Default What about VAG COM to register the upgrade

Can I use my VAG COM to register the upgrade?
Is the complete procedure to upgrade the MMI included in the bentley's manuals?
How is the procedure so I don't mess up any component?
I like to work in my cars by myself and learn about it
jfiredragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 03:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
Vish is on a distinguished road
Default MMI Version update

Hi guys , I have the cd changer already but i dont have the cd to update the MMI to 3450 please if someone can help me I dont mine paying for the cd aswell so i can play mp3 in my car.
Vish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 02:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Expert
 
craigyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 567
Gallery: (0)
craigyb is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The update CD will not update the graphics, nor will it allow MP3 playing unless your car already has the Mp3 capable CD player.
__________________
My Retrofit Website http://www.tclsatnav.com
craigyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A6, RS6, S6 and 100 Forum > C6 Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.




Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2