MMI Upgrade question - Audi Forums
C6 Forum 2005+ Audi A6, Audi RS6 & Audi S6 (Audi A6 Forum, Audi RS6 Forum, Audi S6 Forum)

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-12-2007, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Question MMI Upgrade question

have acquired the latest "High Update" MMI cd which is supposed to take my MMI from version from 2140 upwards to version 3460, and the new 2008 european map. I have a couple of questions if you could help?

1) How do I check my current software version?

2) Is this as easy as I have been told? : Press Return and Setup for 5 seconds, change menu to Software Update and take the choice of updates. Surely this can't be it? Can I break it? (of course I can!)

3) How do I know which updates to take from the list? Is it obvious? I know what I have in my car in terms of which amp; tv etc

Surely this should be a free upgrade? It's only system software, isn't it?



Thanks

jake
quadraspleen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-12-2007, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
update

I just ran the CD to see what it all does. Being a computer engineer, I'm not scared of these things

It scanned the system and told me what I had and whether or not an upgrade for it was included on the disc. It then said "Start Download" and that's where I stopped! Is this going to mash my system? Surely not. It all seems very straightforward. There is logging so I can see if it was a success or not...I read somewhere on this board that I need a "constant voltage" to the battery while upgrading. What does that mean? Can I do it while the car is ticking over?
Any help appreciated
quadraspleen is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-12-2007, 02:24 PM
Premium Member
 
a8 tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadraspleen
update

I just ran the CD to see what it all does. Being a computer engineer, I'm not scared of these things

It scanned the system and told me what I had and whether or not an upgrade for it was included on the disc. It then said "Start Download" and that's where I stopped! Is this going to mash my system? Surely not. It all seems very straightforward. There is logging so I can see if it was a success or not...I read somewhere on this board that I need a "constant voltage" to the battery while upgrading. What does that mean? Can I do it while the car is ticking over?
Any help appreciated
You need to supply the battery with a 12 volt charge as the update takes 40 mins and you cant do it with the engine running,also no other consumers must be operated as any voltage drop may cause ireversible damage to the mmi units.This is best done by the dealer as a software up date needs to be registered with the server in germany for future referance to repairs and recalls.

B6 1.9 TDI AVANT QUATTRO
MODS RS6 wheels, dis + cruise,S line body,Ipod interface,Sline steering wheel, leather interior, Eibach Pro springs.

diagnostic tools vas pc & vcds

If you like your answer then hit the rep button
a8 tech is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-12-2007, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Thanks for the speedy reply.
Will they charge me even though I have the CD?
Would they charge me more if I didn't have the update CD?
Can they tell me off for having the cd in the first place?

Thanks again
quadraspleen is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-12-2007, 02:33 PM
Premium Member
 
a8 tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
1 hours labour and audi have there own cd update discs for mmi so you dont have to tell them you have a copy disc.Hope you didnt pay to much as there only £1.99,its the labour that costs and if you had been in touch with audi and bought the latest sat nav cd from them they may have done it for nothing as i have for are customers when updating software for phone issues or nav problems.

B6 1.9 TDI AVANT QUATTRO
MODS RS6 wheels, dis + cruise,S line body,Ipod interface,Sline steering wheel, leather interior, Eibach Pro springs.

diagnostic tools vas pc & vcds

If you like your answer then hit the rep button
a8 tech is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-09-2007, 04:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
hi guys the name is vishal and can anyone help me in getting a copy of the mmi update
Vish is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-09-2007, 04:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
what does is update,does is update the graphics aswell
Vish is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-15-2008, 08:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
What about VAG COM to register the upgrade

Can I use my VAG COM to register the upgrade?
Is the complete procedure to upgrade the MMI included in the bentley's manuals?
How is the procedure so I don't mess up any component?
I like to work in my cars by myself and learn about it
jfiredragon is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-19-2008, 03:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
MMI Version update

Hi guys , I have the cd changer already but i dont have the cd to update the MMI to 3450 please if someone can help me I dont mine paying for the cd aswell so i can play mp3 in my car.
Vish is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-21-2008, 02:20 AM
Expert
 
craigyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
The update CD will not update the graphics, nor will it allow MP3 playing unless your car already has the Mp3 capable CD player.

My Retrofit Website http://www.tclsatnav.com
craigyb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A6, RS6, S6 and 100 Forum > C6 Forum

Quick Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome