Disable Tire Pressure Monitor System? - Audi Forums
Audi Forum Audi Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4, RS4 and S4 Forum > B7 Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

B7 Forum 2005.5+ Audi A4, Audi RS4 & Audi S4. (Audi A4 Forum, Audi RS4 Forum, Audi S4 Forum)

Audi-Forums.com is the premier Audi Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2008, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 15
Gallery: (0)
ziobello is on a distinguished road
Red face Disable Tire Pressure Monitor System?

Is it possible to disable the TPMS? I have a set on 18's from my last B6 A4 that do not have sensors in them. Is there a way getting around the annoying TPMS indicator if I install the 18's on my 2008 A4? I do not feel like removing them from my 17s because I will be using them again. Are there cheaper sensors out that that would work on my Audi? Or is ther such a thing as a device that tricks the computer in thinking the wheels are at the correct pressure? I will take any advice you have to share.
Thank you!
ziobello is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-14-2008, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Premium Member
 
a8 tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 1,168
Gallery: (0)
a8 tech is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ziobello View Post
Is it possible to disable the TPMS? I have a set on 18's from my last B6 A4 that do not have sensors in them. Is there a way getting around the annoying TPMS indicator if I install the 18's on my 2008 A4? I do not feel like removing them from my 17s because I will be using them again. Are there cheaper sensors out that that would work on my Audi? Or is ther such a thing as a device that tricks the computer in thinking the wheels are at the correct pressure? I will take any advice you have to share.
Thank you!
do you have vag com
__________________
B6 1.9 TDI AVANT QUATTRO
MODS RS6 wheels, dis + cruise,S line body,Ipod interface,Sline steering wheel, leather interior, Eibach Pro springs.

diagnostic tools vas pc & vcds

If you like your answer then hit the rep button
a8 tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern Calif,USA
Posts: 4
Gallery: (0)
wrgraves is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a vagcom, so what do you do to disable it or where does one go for that information ?? (2004 A8L in my case)
wrgraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
JoeScro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: las vegas
Posts: 29
Gallery: (0)
JoeScro is on a distinguished road
Default

why dont you just pull the computer sensor chip for your model or under the dash disconnect the wiring for that light and then you should be good.
__________________
All types of Car Accessories for most makes and models for Audi. But most important is the 6 month no payments on
aftermarket parts
JoeScro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 06:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern Calif,USA
Posts: 4
Gallery: (0)
wrgraves is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeScro View Post
why dont you just pull the computer sensor chip for your model or under the dash disconnect the wiring for that light and then you should be good.
I don't think so. I am asking for specific information here, if I wanted to destroy the dash I'd just use a sledge on it.
wrgraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
JoeScro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: las vegas
Posts: 29
Gallery: (0)
JoeScro is on a distinguished road
Default

If you mod your own car then its not so hard. I found this link that tells and shows how to do the dash and the part. Granted this might not be your specific model but it gives you a good idea how the procedure.

Here is the link but if you dont want to link then here I cut and pasted for you but you dont get any pics.

Hope this could help you but if not I'm just trying to give you option rather then spend a ton of money.

AudiWorld Tech Articles

Tech Article Title Author Date
Instrument Cluster LCD Replacement Laser Red In Raleigh 2009
Tools:
Adjustable Temperature Soldering Iron
No. 10 Torx Driver
ChipQuik Desoldering kit
Jewelers Lupe
3M Blue Tape
Small Flat Head Screw Driver

Photobucket

Well for the last 7 years I have had to live with the inherent failure (loss of pixels) with the LED back lit LCD display in my 2000 S4 instrument cluster. This DIY will try and provide some general guidelines, tips and suggestions to install a new LCD screen. Be advised I will not be held responsible for any damage you may cause to your cluster by following this guideline. Perform at your own risk.

I purchased my new display off EBay from a seller in the Netherlands. I paid $115.00 for mine but it turned out to be a genuine VDO display and not a cheap replacement from china. The color matched the original perfectly.

First off you need to remove your cluster the vehicle. There are plenty of DIY's out there showing you how to do this. I used the one provided on Stratmospere:

http://www.stratmosphere.com/OCT_S4_...auge_Strat.pdf

No need to remove any of the lower panels shown in these instructions just start at figure No.6 remove the black trim piece and unscrew the screws and wiggle out the cluster then undo the 3 rear connectors. Follow the instructions to pull apart the cluster. You don't need anything special for the clip shims. I just broke up an old CD jewel case and made some shims.

Once you get it apart I simply followed the above procedure to remove the pointers and dials. One hint is use some blue 3m tape on the dials when prying off the pointers so you don't scratch it up. Also I took a picture of the dials to have a reference for the pointer positions. You don't want to remove the temp and volt dials or pointers. I will say the hardest part of this entire repair was getting the pointers back to the correct positions. I strongly suggest once you are done don't snap the cluster housing and the front cover together. First install the unit less the front cover and start the car. I had to do this about 4 times each time removing and reinstalling the speed and tach pointers until I could get them back to zero.

Ok now that you have the cluster cover and dials removed you need to remove the white plastic dial holders. As directed above you didn't remove the temp and voltage dials or pointers but in order to remove the large white plastic dial holders you will need to cut the big dial holders free of the smaller holders. See below:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Now with the dial holders nipped you can remove them by flipping over the board and bending the metal clips holding the milage and clock LCD's and pushing the white plastic clips out:

Photobucket

With the dial holders removed the last thing you need to remove is the metal LCD screen holder. Again just flip over the board and bend the metal tabs and it will pop out.

Photobucket

At this point removed the orange rear reflector and set it aside so I wouldn't damage it. Now its time to remove the old display.

Photobucket

You need to simply take your soldering iron and melt some ChipQuik SMD Rework solder across all the pins in the ribbon cable. Make one elongated pool of solder across all the pins
Chip Quik SMD1 Product Sheet

Photobucket

This rework solder has a very low melting temperature and will stay liquid much longer than regular solder and keep the original solder liquid as well. The old display will simply come right off. I kept my Weller WES51 at around 650 degrees F seemed to work fine.

Photobucket

Now you need to remove any ChipQuik from the pads. Just follow the directions with that came with the kit. Its important to clean it well. Then you need to use a jewelers lupe or large magnifying glass and tin each pad with a bit of solder. Some paste flux really works well here to insure you don't bridge any pads. Once all the pads are tinned line up the new displays cable over the tinned pads. When you can't see any pads you know you are lined up perfectly. I used some 3M blue tape to hold it in place. The simply hit each contact on the cable with your soldering iron. Don't hold it to long the contacts can detach from the ribbon if heated for too long. Once all the contacts are soldered to the pads you are good to go.

Photobucket

Now simply reverse the steps above and put it all back together. Remember don't snap the front protective cover on the display until you connect the display to the car to make sure your pointers are lines up. Here you go looks like new.

Photobucket

Thanks to everyone for the help and pointers. Especially MacGyver who really gave me some great advice. Hope this helps!
__________________
All types of Car Accessories for most makes and models for Audi. But most important is the 6 month no payments on
aftermarket parts
JoeScro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern Calif,USA
Posts: 4
Gallery: (0)
wrgraves is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm sorry you don't understand. I have an A8L and I don't want to mechanically modify anything, I just want to find out how TPMS can be disabled using a vag com, nothing else.
wrgraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
JoeScro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: las vegas
Posts: 29
Gallery: (0)
JoeScro is on a distinguished road
Default

Oh my bad I thought you modified your tires and it was setting off you tire monitor.
__________________
All types of Car Accessories for most makes and models for Audi. But most important is the 6 month no payments on
aftermarket parts
JoeScro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern Calif,USA
Posts: 4
Gallery: (0)
wrgraves is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeScro View Post
Oh my bad I thought you modified your tires and it was setting off you tire monitor.
I figured it out, turns out the code on the TPMS does it, save off the old code in case you need to turn it back on and change the country/frequency digit to zero and it's disabled.
wrgraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4, RS4 and S4 Forum > B7 Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.




Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2