Resetting Check Engine Light - Audi Forums
Audi Forum Audi Forum

» Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4, RS4 and S4 Forum > B6 Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

B6 Forum 2002-2005 Audi A4 & Audi A4 Cabriolet / 2004 Audi S4. (Audi A4 Forum, Audi S4 Forum, Audi RS4 Forum)

Audi-Forums.com is the premier Audi Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2008, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Gallery: (0)
cneedelman is on a distinguished road
Default Resetting Check Engine Light

I have an 03 1.8T, which i just replaced one of the coil packs on. Is there any way for me to reset the check engine light, or should I just wait for my next trip to the dealer.
cneedelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2009, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Poplar Grove IL
Posts: 93
Gallery: (0)
coving21 is on a distinguished road
Default

Same thing here, I replaced the all the coils since I was having a miss and do not want to pay the dealer to reset the check engine light... Does anyone know if you can reset it yourself? If you know you can but don't feel comfortable commenting on this type of procedure can you at least advise if this is even possible for someone to do without some expensive computer?

Last edited by coving21; 02-11-2009 at 04:47 PM.
coving21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 07:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Gallery: (0)
cneedelman is on a distinguished road
Default

The check engine light went out on its own not long after I changed the coil.
cneedelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Poplar Grove IL
Posts: 93
Gallery: (0)
coving21 is on a distinguished road
Default

The check engine light was reset by my local mechanic for FREE!!!!! Yeah
coving21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 09:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Audirondacks
Posts: 39
Gallery: (0)
Philip Swanson is on a distinguished road
Default

On most cars, disconnecting the battery for a few minutes will reset the computer.The only other way is to buy a code reader (About $125 on Ebay) witch is a good tool to have for diagnosing minor problems,it will save money in the long run.
__________________
AUDIRONDACK CRUIZER
Philip Swanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 09:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Audirondacks
Posts: 39
Gallery: (0)
Philip Swanson is on a distinguished road
Default

Forgot to mention, if you buy a code reader make sure it's able to read AUDI/VW codes because not all readers will read Audi.
__________________
AUDIRONDACK CRUIZER
Philip Swanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 01:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Poplar Grove IL
Posts: 93
Gallery: (0)
coving21 is on a distinguished road
Default

Okay now check engine light came back on. Went to Auto zone since they will read the code for free and this is what I got: “Catalytic Converter efficiency below threshold” anyone know if this is a O2 sensor or the converter? Anyone ever get this message on a code reader? What did you do to fix? Oh yeah if its the converter will I harm anything if I continue to drive on it? (Maybe poor gas mileage which I have not noticed so far)

Last edited by coving21; 02-13-2009 at 01:24 PM. Reason: More questions
coving21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 08:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 67
Gallery: (0)
LT1FirebirdSLP is on a distinguished road
Default

Wowww.... look kids. 1996 and up Audi or for that matter all manufacturers are OBDII. Any shop that charges to reset a check engine light is full of themselves. They play on the customers stupidity. I have a little 200 dollar scanner it takes me about 2 minutes to reset that light. It just the hit of a button. Never pay to get your light reset. If you dont have a scanner unhook the negative cable from your battery and wait 40 seconds. To let the computer and rest of the car to completely shut down, and let the memory reset. After 40 seconds hook it back up, tighten it and start your car. The light will be gone, so long as the condition that caused it no longer exists.
LT1FirebirdSLP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 08:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 67
Gallery: (0)
LT1FirebirdSLP is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coving21 View Post
Okay now check engine light came back on. Went to Auto zone since they will read the code for free and this is what I got: “Catalytic Converter efficiency below threshold” anyone know if this is a O2 sensor or the converter? Anyone ever get this message on a code reader? What did you do to fix? Oh yeah if its the converter will I harm anything if I continue to drive on it? (Maybe poor gas mileage which I have not noticed so far)
Downstream O2 is the only reason youll get this code. Yea a bad cat will set it off but unless you drove around with a misfire for quite some time, its most likely just the sensor. downstream is after the cat and measures catalyst efficiency
LT1FirebirdSLP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 03:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Full Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Poplar Grove IL
Posts: 93
Gallery: (0)
coving21 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LT1FirebirdSLP View Post
Downstream O2 is the only reason youll get this code. Yea a bad cat will set it off but unless you drove around with a misfire for quite some time, its most likely just the sensor. downstream is after the cat and measures catalyst efficiency
Thanks for the response. When the coil first went out I drove like 3 miles to the local parts store pulled into the lot popped the hood and the cat was glowing red ..... Let it cool down replaced the plugs and drove another two miles parked it in the garage and did not run it again until all coils were replaced. You think I burned up the cat since it was glowing red or do you think theres a possibility its okay?
coving21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4, RS4 and S4 Forum > B6 Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.




Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2