Audi A4 Engine Stalls Out 'n Dies Randomly While Driving - Audi Forums
Audi Forum Audi Forum

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4, RS4 and S4 Forum > B5 Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Gallery / Showroom Auto Loans Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

B5 Forum 1996-2001.5 Audi A4 / 2000-2002 Audi S4 & Audi RS4. (Audi A4 Forum, Audi S4 Forum, Audi RS4 Forum)

Audi-Forums.com is the premier Audi Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2009, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ashford, CT
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
dag_dabreemie is on a distinguished road
Default Audi A4 Engine Stalls Out 'n Dies Randomly While Driving

I have a 1999 Audi A4 1.8T Quattro that's been stalling out and dying randomly while driving. Also the Malfunction Indicator Light M.I.L. or Check Engine light will intermittenly click on and will flutter rapidly with a clicking noise and sometimes the rpm will jerk or shoot up briefly. The little digital selector lever position display goes bright.
I pull the car over and the engine won't turn over and fire. I keep the key in on position for diagnostic adaption for like 5 - 10 minutes. Then I turn key off completely for like a minute or so. Audi starts back up just fine and I drive away. But then like maybe 15 minutes later it will do the same problems again. On some days my Audi will run fine with no problems but I think it is now getting worse.

I've got an ebay vag com cable and registered ross tech software. Here are the DTC Codes that came up:

Address 01 Engine
Controller: 8D0907557 P
Component: 1.8L R4 / 5VT MOTR AT D04
Coding: 06251
Shop # WSC 00000

18010 Power Supply Terminal 30: Voltage too low
P1602 - 35-10 --- Intermittent
Readiness: 0000 0100

00529 - Engine Speed Signal Missing
31-10 Open or short to Ground - Intermittent

00543 - Maximum Engine Speed Exceeded (Engine Warranty VOID! :-)
35-10 --- Intermittent

00526 - Brake Light Switch F
27-00 - Implausible Signal

I also did have to do a throttle body adaption earlier this year in January through the software and not sure if this is related to the current problems.
Any input or suggestions on remedying these codes and issues is greatly appreciated. Thank-you.
dag_dabreemie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-26-2009, 01:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Gallery: (0)
roots is on a distinguished road
Default

did the engine slowly die out or did it just completely cut out. and when it restarted did it smell like eggs? also did it happen when you were in low rpms or on a turn?
roots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 10:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ashford, CT
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
dag_dabreemie is on a distinguished road
Default

UPDATE:

Well since most of the few Audi dealership service shops in my state are lousy - I took my A4 to the local Langan Volkswagen of Vernon dealership to get worked on. They held onto it for about 2 weeks. Checked all the grounds and wiring. They road tested - witnessed and were able to experience the stalling out problem I had with it. It turns out that they needed to replace the main computer motherboard ECM module.
My audi has now been running fine since (knock on wood).
dag_dabreemie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior
 
jaimesonlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MS
Posts: 314
Gallery: (5)
jaimesonlee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dag_dabreemie View Post
UPDATE:

Well since most of the few Audi dealership service shops in my state are lousy - I took my A4 to the local Langan Volkswagen of Vernon dealership to get worked on. They held onto it for about 2 weeks. Checked all the grounds and wiring. They road tested - witnessed and were able to experience the stalling out problem I had with it. It turns out that they needed to replace the main computer motherboard ECM module.
My audi has now been running fine since (knock on wood).
I'm glad you got your car fixed. The code that got my attention was the engine overspeed code. That usually results from shifting from 3rd to 1st etc. Is yours a stick and did you ever have a mis shift?
__________________

01' S4 STG 3
01' SC'D A4
93' CHEVY P/U
08' HD NIGHTSTER 1200
jaimesonlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 03:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ashford, CT
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
dag_dabreemie is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaimesonlee View Post
Is yours a stick and did you ever have a mis shift?
Nope. Its automatic.
dag_dabreemie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior
 
jaimesonlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MS
Posts: 314
Gallery: (5)
jaimesonlee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dag_dabreemie View Post
Nope. Its automatic.
That's strange, even if someone just sat there and revved the piss out of it, it still has a rev limiter. Oh well as long as your car is good to go now.
__________________

01' S4 STG 3
01' SC'D A4
93' CHEVY P/U
08' HD NIGHTSTER 1200
jaimesonlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 07:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Gallery: (0)
cummins990 is on a distinguished road
Default

i know this is an old thread but this is exactly what is happening to my car... if i have to replace the ecm will i still have my giac software... idk how its installed.. how much is an ecu and how can that be the problem
cummins990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 04:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ashford, CT
Posts: 5
Gallery: (0)
dag_dabreemie is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cummins990 View Post
i know this is an old thread but this is exactly what is happening to my car... if i have to replace the ecm will i still have my giac software... idk how its installed.. how much is an ecu and how can that be the problem
I paid $1150.00 (brand new) for the ECM. And $323.00 for the labor. My Audi still has been running fine.
dag_dabreemie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Gallery: (0)
cummins990 is on a distinguished road
Default

i hope thats not the problem, or if i can get a used one i dont got that kinda cash

Last edited by cummins990; 12-15-2009 at 05:49 PM.
cummins990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Gallery: (0)
cummins990 is on a distinguished road
Default

also if i bring it in, and they want to reflash the ecu will it ruin my giac tune?
cummins990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Audi Forums > Audi Models > Audi A4, RS4 and S4 Forum > B5 Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.




Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2